Home Pre-Symposium Workshops – Geosciences

Pre-Symposium Workshops for the GEOSCIENCE COMMUNITY

Thank you for participating in the Pre-Symposium Orientation meeting on Monday September 21 or for listening to the recordings for which you have received the link by email. We think this was an excellent kick-off to the series of Pre-Symposium Workshops in preparation of the upcoming FAIR Convergence Symposium co-organised by CODATA and GO FAIR (27 November – 4 December).

The next step will be a series of practical Pre-Symposium FAIRification Workshops. These consist of a FAIR Implementation Profile (FIP) workshop and a Convergence workshop for each community. The workshop’s outcomes will be reported as part of a dedicated strand of Symposium sessions formulated around the 3-Point FAIRification Framework (3PFF).

FAIR Implementation Profile Workshop
In this 4-hour event, the workshop participants will work together to answer the FIP Mini-Questionnaire (and later the FIP Wizard Tool). This effort will result in a version 1.0 FAIR Implementation Profile (FIP) for your community.

Convergence Workshop
In this 3-hour event, participants will analyse their newly-created FIP in the context of FIPs from other communities, seeking to optimise FAIR implementations for maximal data reuse.

Preparation Workshop
On November 18-19 a final preparation meeting will be organized where each community is invited to assess the FIP and Convergence workshops and the degree of cross-domain convergence that has been achieved. A summary of the results and final assessments will be jointly formulated into a presentation for the Convergence Symposium.

For your community, the reserved dates are:

    • FAIR Implementation Profile Workshop ~
      October 20, 2020

      12:00 – 16:00 UTC
      14:00 – 18:00 CEST
      08:00 – 12:00 EDT
    • Convergence Workshop ~
      Nov 2
      8:00 – 11:00 UTC
      9:00 – 12:00 CET
    • Preparation Workshop
      November 18-19, 2020

      exact times TBC

Please register for the Pre-Symposium Workshops for the Geosciences Community here:

    We anticipate significant interest in these pre-symposium workshops from others within your community but also from other communities. We welcome these non-active participants as Observers. In order to keep the workshops as practical and productive as possible for the participants, Observers are asked to follow some basic house rules.
    ** We honor your decision. In case you do not wish to give your consent, please get in touch with us via office@go-fair.org. Also, you are entitled to withdraw your consent at any time.
    ** We honor your decision. In case you do not wish to give your consent, please get in touch with us via office@go-fair.org. Also, you are entitled to withdraw your consent at any time.